Originally posted by: "Big_Uggy"
No jest! I was suggesting that the reason for the one-hand rule is because if you're using a clock, you have to make the move then operate the clock with the same hand - otherwise it would be impossible in a time scramble to see whether the move had been made before or after the move. However, I suppose it's much easier to cheat by altering piece positions if you have both hands over the board. In both cases the rule seems to me to be a lot less daft than it sounds at first glance.