Chess rating: 1199
Give chess goodie
|Tue Mar 28 2006 11:55PM | edited: 12:11:57 | MsgID: 3910874|
I went to the linked site's tutoriaal and found this:
"Class 1: Insufficient material
Class 2: Stalemate
Class 3: Blocked position
Class 1 positions are those where the pieces are free to move around independently, but there just aren't enough of them to ever manage a checkmate, even when the two players are co-operating. Note: these days there is no specific "draw by insufficient material" rule in chess. I hope we all know what a stalemate is. And then a Class 3 position is any dead position which does not fall into one of the prior two classes.
We don't have to consider draw by 50 moves, or draw by repetition any more than we need to consider draw by agreement or resignation. All of these require some choice by at least one of the players."
Wouldn't the following position be dead if enough previous moves involved neither a capture nor a pawn advance such that white could not mate with the remainding moves?:
Chess rating: 2238
LCF 160 Fide approx. 2050
Give chess goodie
Chess goodies: 13
|Sat Feb 25 2006 12:35PM | MsgID: 3679052|
The relevant Rule of Chess is Article 1.3 (Dead Game): "If the position is such that neither player can possibly checkmate, the game is drawn." Article 9.6 adds: "This immediately ends the game." The diagram shows a game thus drawn (Dead Game). The last move to the diagram must have been a capture of Q or R, else the game was dead before that move (due to insufficient mating material). Now suppose Black has just captured Q or R, from a7 say. Black's only move to escape check is Kxa8, with a drawn game to follow. Accordingly, no checkmate is possible from this position: Article 1.3 applies and the move Kxa8 does not take place. So Black didn't just move, and White did.
For more complex examples of the strange art of dead reckoning visit: